CaRMS is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors selected by election or appointment. CaRMS’ member organizations and stakeholders recommend directors and the CaRMS Governance Committee prepares a slate of nominations for Board vacancies, which are presented to the Board for approval and subsequently ratified by member organizations at the annual members’ meeting. Once elected or appointed to the Board, directors with their unique perspectives from their member or stakeholder organizations act in a fiduciary capacity on behalf of CaRMS in their deliberations and in their decisions.

Member organizations

Association of Faculties of Medicine of Canada (AFMC)
Canadian Federation of Medical Students (CFMS)
College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC)
Canadian Medical Association (CMA)
Fédération des médecins résidents du Québec (FMRQ)
Fédération médicale étudiante du Québec (FMEQ)
Federation of Medical Regulatory Authorities of Canada (FMRAC)
Resident Doctors of Canada 
Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada (RCPSC)

Board of Directors

Updated October 2017

Dr. Janice Willett
Associate Dean, Faculty Affairs
Northern Ontario School of Medicine
Dr. Preston Smith
Dean, College of Medicine
University of Saskatchewan
Dr. Brendan Carr
President and CEO
William Osler Health System
Mr. John Gallinger
CEO (ex officio Board member)
Canadian Resident Matching Service
Dr. Tavis Apramian
Medical Student
Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry,
Western University
Mr. Samuel Bergeron
Director (pending election)
Medical Student
University of Montreal
Dr. Catherine Cervin
Associate Dean, Postgraduate Medical Education
Northern Ontario School of Medicine
Dr. Sylvain Coderre
Associate Dean, Undergraduate Medical Education
Cumming School of Medicine, Calgary
Dr. Terry Colbourne
Medical Resident
University of Manitoba
Dr. Bryce Durafourt
Medical Resident
Queen’s University
Dr. Willa Henry
University of British Columbia
Dr. Linda Inkpen
Director (pending election)
College of Physicians and Surgeons of Newfoundland and Labrador
Dr. Wanda Parsons
Director (pending election)
Associate Professor, Family Practice Unit and Assistant Dean of Admissions, Faculty of Medicine
Memorial University of Newfoundland
Dr. Eric Peters
Medical Resident
Université de Montréal
Dr. Franco Rizzuti
Director (pending election)
Medical Resident
Cumming School of Medicine, University of Calgary
Dr. Jay Rosenfield
Vice Dean, Medical Education
Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry, Western University
Dr. Inge Schabort
Associate Professor, Family Medicine and IMG Coordinator, McMaster University